My First Backpacking Adventure

Hello lovelies!

This past weekend I went on a  backpacking adventure with my backpacking class. This class is unlike any other I have taken before. It focuses on teaching students the 7 “Leave No Trace” principles and basic survival skills for a successful backpacking trip. During the past weekend, I learned how to fish, pitch a tent, cook with a portable stove, filter water, and so many more survival skills.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

I cannot even count how many miles I walked this weekend. However, no matter how tired I got, I kept pushing forward to see more of the park. Eventually, my group and I broke away from the main group and went on our own little adventure. We stumbled upon this gorgeous, tiny waterfall.

012

 

All of the trees were starting to change colors and it was one of the most beautiful sights I have seen. The air was crisp like the leaves I was stepping on during my hike.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

I would also like to admit that I sung “Out of the Woods” by Taylor Swift during the majority of my trip because it felt appropriate.

The most important thing I learned this weekend was how to take a break and breathe. Being surrounded by nature with no technology was one of the most refreshing moments of this semester.

If you have never gone backpacking before (or even gone on hike!) I highly encourage you to go. It was a wonderful experience that I will never forget.

Here are a few more of my favorite pictures from the trip. Enjoy!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Love,

Larisa Rose

3 thoughts on “My First Backpacking Adventure

Leave a Reply

