Tarte’s Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette Review

Hello lovelies!

Whew! What a long name for a palette. Tarte’s latest palette Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette is part of their Fall 2014 collection. For those of you unfamiliar with Tarte, Tarte is a cosmetics company that prides itself on “high performance naturals” and being cruelty-free! Tarte is one of my favorite cosmetics brands for those two reasons.

All the shades found within this palette may be combined to have the perfect autumn look. It includes 1 full size Amazonian clay blush, 1 highlighter, 1 bronzer, and 6 eyeshadows. For only $38, I believe that this palette is worth every penny.

When I first opened up the box, I was in awe of how cute the outside of the palette was. The little golden snake has a pretty purple gem on top of its head. I was pleased to find that it came with a double-sided tutorial card. This card provides instructions on how to use the eyeshadow colors together. These tips are perfect for those who may struggle when applying eyeshadow or are unsure of how to combine the colors.

Tarte Snake 2Then, I opened the palette to see all of the amazing colors. I was particularly interested in the shimmery purple and gold eyeshadows. These colors will be the perfect pop of color during the autumn and winter months. While I believe this palette will suit all eye colors, I think it would look particularly lovely on brown and hazel/green eyes.

Tarte Snake 3

The highlighter is beautiful, shimmery champagne color suitable for all skin tones. The bronzer is Tarte’s famous matte “park avenue princess” which is perfect for contouring. “Unleashed” is the full-size blush provided in the palette. The blush is described as a muted matte rose color. It provides a very rosy pink glow to my cheeks.

The eye shadows are listed in this order below:

  1. bare to explore (matte pink beige)
  2. make a mauve (shimmery plum mauve)
  3. plum away with me (shimmery dark plum)
  4. up to no gold (sparkly gold)
  5. tan-gled up in you (matte tan)
  6. don’t turn a-brown (matte dark brown)

My two favorite eyeshadows from this palette are “up to no gold” and “plum away from me”. I have already begun to create different looks with all of the eyeshadows.

Tarte Snake 4

 

After snapping all of these pictures, I was eager to swatch all of the colors! For the most part, I was thoroughly impressed with all of the colors in the palette. The only eyeshadow I had an issue with was #1 “bare to explore”. It may be due to my fair skin, but I had a hard time getting pigment from this color. I have faith that “bare to explore” will benefit from some help of an eyeshadow primer.

tarte snake 4

 

Overall, I would highly recommend this palette to anyone who has had their eye on it. The Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette is limited edition which means that is only available for a short period of time. I might post my own look created from this palette in an upcoming post – would any of you enjoy that? Let me know in the comments below! A new post for my “Guide to Your Freshman Year” series will be up sometime tomorrow.

Love,

Larisa Rose

Follow me on Twitter!

Follow me on Instagram!

Like my Facebook page!

7 thoughts on “Tarte’s Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette Review

Leave a Reply

